Short Breaks and Holiday Programmes

Meet new people and try new activities during the school holidays!

We are offering both face-to-face and online sessions for young people aged 14-18.

 

Click the button below to view a timetable of activities and register for the June Holiday Programme.

Holiday Programme 2021 Dates

 

Holiday Programme sessions run from 10am to 3pm on the dates listed below.

 

Spring:

Tuesday 1st June – Friday 4th June

 

Summer:

Monday 26th July – Friday 30th July

Monday 2nd August – Friday 6th August

Monday 9th August – Friday 13th August

Monday 16th August –  Friday 20th August

 

October: Monday 26th October – Friday 30th October

About the AFK Holiday Programme

During the school holidays, we offer a safe environment in which young people with learning disabilities can meet new people and try new activities.

Activities include:

 

  • Sports, including cycling, trampolining, swimming, horse riding, climbing, martial arts and basketball
  • Music, including music production, singing in the vocal booth and playing musical instruments
  • Performance arts, including street dance and circus skills
  • Other activities include arts and crafts, cooking, hair and beauty, photography and horticulture (gardening)

 

Benefits include:

 

  • Improved physical health
  • Improved mental and emotional wellbeing
  • Making friends and developing social skills
  • Overcoming fear and anxiety by trying new things
  • Increased confidence and self-esteem
  • Building resilience and self-advocacy
  • Developing communication skills
  • Learning and preparing for adulthood

Find out more

If you would like to learn more about holiday programmes and short breaks at my AFK, please contact Victoria Havard on shortbreaks@my-afk.org or call 0208 347 8111.

Meet our Holiday Programme staff

Kate Jackson

Kate Jackson is our Services and Business Development Manager. She makes sure everything is running smoothly!

Victoria

Victoria Havard is our Service Delivery Facilitator; she helps organise student and trainee activities at my AFK.

Jolene Sampson

Jolene Sampson is our Chaperone and Service Delivery Assistant. She accompanies young people while they travel to and from AFK.

Share this page on social media