Short Breaks and Holiday Programmes

Meet new people and try new activities during the school holidays!

During the school holidays, we offer a safe environment in which young people with learning disabilities can meet new people and try new activities.

Activities include:

  • Sports, including cycling, trampolining, swimming, horse riding, climbing, martial arts and basketball
  • Music, including music production, singing in the vocal booth and playing musical instruments
  • Performance arts, including street dance and circus skills
  • Other activities include arts and crafts, cooking, hair and beauty, photography and horticulture (gardening)

 

Benefits include:

  • Improved physical health
  • Improved mental and emotional wellbeing
  • Making friends and developing social skills
  • Overcoming fear and anxiety by trying new things
  • Increased confidence and self-esteem
  • Building resilience and self-advocacy
  • Developing communication skills
  • Learning and preparing for adulthood

Find out more

If you would like to learn more about holiday programmes and short breaks at my AFK, please contact Hana Roig on hroig@my-afk.org or call 0208 347 8111.

Accessibility: Click the subtitles link or view the video transcript on YouTube

Holiday Programme 2020/2021 Dates:

 

Easter:  Monday 6th – Thursday 9th  April and Tuesday 14th – Friday 17th April

 

May:  Tuesday 26th May – Friday 29th May

 

Summer: Monday 27th July – Friday 31st July

Monday 3rd August – Friday 7th August,

Monday 10th August – Friday 14th August,

Monday 17th August – Monday 21st August

 

October: Monday 26th October – Friday 30th October

 

February: Monday 15th February – Friday 19th February 2021

Meet our Holiday Programme staff

Kate Jackson

Kate Jackson is our Services and Business Development Manager

Hana Roig

Hana Roig is our Service Support Coordinator; she helps organise student activities at my AFK. Hana loves growing food and other plants, especially in our Edible Garden.

Driver & Support Assistant Antonio

Antonio Casti is a driver and support assistant at my AFK. Antonio loves taking photographs of our students enjoying all the different actvities they do at my AFK.

Driver & support assistant Jay

Jay Tailor is a driver and support assistant at my AFK. He loves being outside, and enjoys helping our students learn about growing food in our Edible Garden.

Driver & support assistant Mick

Mick Parker is a driver and support assistant at my AFK. He plays music in a band, and he loves to help our young people play the drums and sing in the vocal booth.

Share this page on social media